Here’s what went down: A ball was launched off the bat of Astros’ Jose Altuve to right field and it looked like it was about to tie the game at 2 a piece but Altuve was called out on fan interference, changing the entire game.
The question is was Mookie Betts going to catch the ball? And was the fan reaching over the wall?
I have seen fans on twitter argue over this call stating:
“Altuve is called out on fan interference after replay. I think that is a bad call. The ball was beyond the fence and Betts closed his glove before the ball arrived. I don’t think he was going to catch that. 2-run HR goes away.”
“So if a player is IN the stands fans are suppose to move over? If those are the rules MLB shouldn’t let fans sit there. They didn’t reach over the fence.”
Here is the official MLB rule on fan interference:
In every case of spectator interference with a batted or thrown ball, the ball shall be declared dead and the baserunners can be placed where the umpire determines they would have been without the interference. When a spectator clearly prevents a fielder from catching a fly ball by reaching onto the field of play, the batter shall be ruled out. But no interference is called if a spectator comes in contact with a batted or thrown ball without reaching onto the field of play — even if a fielder might have caught the ball had the spectator not been there.
The debate is this:
- Was Betts going to catch that ball?
- Was Betts closed glove a result of fan interference or did he close it before the fan made contact?
- Was the fan reaching over the wall?
Now after you analyse all of these questions, review the rule again.
The play is over. The game is over. However, this still makes for a great discussion. Did the umpires get the call right? You decide for yourselves.